top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMadeline Bourne

You Got a Right to be Legally Blonde!: Why Everyone Should Try the Theatre Community

Hello, readers!


Today we are going to take a quick break from reviewing musicals and shows (I know, so sad) and talk about theatre as a whole. Four years ago when I started high school, I knew I wanted to get involved in an activity that I would enjoy and excel at. Little did I know that being a part of my first musical freshman year would have such a big impact on me. From meeting new friends to having the chance to dance up on stage, deciding to audition for "Big Fish" was the best decision of my high school career. I can't imagine my life without theatre now, and so I hope this blog persuades you to step out of your comfort zone and try getting involved in a show, whether that means working backstage or dancing your heart out on stage.



One of the most incredible parts of going onstage is being able to see the world through somebody else, that is, your character of course. This most recent musical at the high school, Legally Blonde, I was honored to play the role of Paulette. If you are not familiar with her story, she is a high school dropout hairdresser from Boston who has not had the best luck in life. Even though all of her pain left her lonely and dejected, she still finds love in her heart for others as she imagines her dream life in Ireland. She is one of the hardest characters I've ever had to play (besides that darn Boston accent) because of how much she reminded me of myself. When you act, you must react and tell a story in the way you think the character in the story would, but sometimes it's hard to separate the wonders of a musical from real life. If you become involved with theatre, you have the opportunity to escape your own life and see a world through a fresh pair of eyes and ultimately grow as an individual.


set-piece


As much as it enlightens you on various issues in the world, theatre also empowers you to take action. It's not uncommon for people to speak to a large audience while giving a monologue or conversing with a character, so theatre really helps with going out of your comfort zone. If you were afraid to speak up in class like me, taking a theatre class or even working backstage really helps with your self-confidence. I'll warn you now; there are some loud and crazy kids who do theatre, but feel threatened by them! The more you get comfortable on a stage, the more fun you'll have and louder you'll become.


,


Speaking of theatre nerds, some of the best people I know I have met through shows. It is such a nice feeling when you meet people who you know will work hard for something because they love it just as much as you do. Theatre kids get a bad reputation, I admit we don't know when to stop blasting show tunes, but theatre is where to go in order to make new friends. Not only will they be super accepting (theatre is known for being a great hub for the LGBTQA+ community), but they will help with lines, dances, outside homework, or general life advice! I have met the most humble, kind, trusting, and talented people through shows, and I wouldn't give up theatre for anything.



Trust me, the best kind of friend is a theatre friend!

If I haven't convinced you enough, here is what my friends answered when I asked them why they started doing shows:


Madison- it is a super fun experience where you can meet new friends and express yourself Leah- theater becomes your second family and Robin (our director) makes you feel welcome and loved :) Lucy- it’s such a great opportunity to get out of your comfort zone and meet a ton of great people where you can all share your passions Preston- it’s where I’ve met some of the best people in my life. I know I will always be welcome. Megan-it’s like a family and it’s a great way to share your passions with everyone else who loves and accepts you Marina- people should do theatre because it starts with a T and so does Timothee Chalamet so do it. Anjali- it’s an experience unlike any other and helps you feel like you’re a part of something! It also brings you out of your comfort zone. Chloe- Acting is so amazing because it lets you live a bunch of different and amazing lives, and you meet the most amazing people in doing it! Emma- You learn so many skills and meet a large group of people who you get very close with. You gain confidence in performing your that makes speaking and singing in front of people way easier Jameson- I joined because my brother did it in high school and he enjoyed the community and I wanted to be a part of something bigger than myself

bottom of page